Writing Related Procrastination

I admit that these activities are only very tangentially related to writing but they’re two rather simple websites I’ve found that will give you incredibly true vital statistics about your work in progress that could change the course of your writing career

Lulu Titlescorer

It tells you the statistical likelihood of your novel becoming a bestseller based on the title alone. It also kindly points out a lot of it’s failures (Twilight only scored 36%) just so you know it’s authentic, fake programmes would never admit failure, right?

Rapeseed scored 63.7% and The Waiting Placeย only scored 10.2%. I guess that means it will fail, oh noes!

Media Bistro has loads of other procrastination tools writing aids to check out

Wordle

This creates word art with your MS based on the frequency each word is used. You can specify the colours, the font and other time wasting things like that. Here’s a randomised one I did for Rapeseed:

It’s also pretty handy for spotting any words you might be over using unconsciously, so it’s practically research! I could probably go back and cut out quite a lot of similes to downsize ‘like’ in this draft.

Go forth and procrastinate!

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Related Procrastination

  1. Bill Chance says:

    I love the Lulu Titlescorer – now I can play around with weird titles instead of writing. Interesting – I tried the two titles I’m considering for a collection of short stories – and they both scored exactly the same.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • galactichobo says:

      Thanks for stopping by. Do you prefer one title over another? I think short story collections can be pretty difficult to title, I’ve had one in the works for awhile but still no idea of what to call it

  2. Wordle is so darn addictive….

  3. For some reason I can’t get Wordle to work properly. It just freezes on me. However, when I tried out the title of my novel on Lulu Titlescorer it scored a 76.9% ๐Ÿ™‚ Even if it’s not accurate that’s pretty cool ๐Ÿ™‚

    • galactichobo says:

      You should mention that in your query letter ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wordle kept asking me to download a plugin but I ignored it and it worked anyway?

      Also fonts, downloading fonts can waste hours!

Leave a Reply

